"The genesis of the graphical user interface. On the code theology"

"The genesis of the graphical user interface. On the code theology"

The book is devoted to the analysis of the evolution of abstractions in computer science - from the concepts of variables and objects to patterns and ontologies - which coincides with the evolution of abstractions in philosophy and theology. Graphical user interface, invented in the 1970s, appears as a stage in the development of these abstractions and, at the same time, the computer peripheral. On the basis of cultural homology it is asserted that the graphical user interface is morphologically equivalent to the medieval church, and the current state of affairs in computer science is similar to the situation in the late scholasticism.

The theme of the lecture is: “Interface is the Church”

Michael Kurtov, philosopher, researcher of media and metamedia, specialist in technotheology. Author of the book "Between boredom and dreams. Analysis of cinema experience "(2012).

Opening speech by the series editor Pavel Arsenyev and the author of the preface Alexei Grinbaum (Paris).

Beginning at 7 p.m.
Free admission.

Michael Kurtov’s book and other publications from the *démarche series can be purchased at the gallery shop. Writers of the series are united not only by underlined interest in the theory and the conditions of intellectual production as a whole, but also the overall thrust of train of thought, mode of action that involves, as a rule, establishing the trauma of institutional split, displacement, demarche.

"The policy of form" in their case - or, more broadly, "letter" - is determined by a critical attitude toward ideological devices infrastructure to the same extent that critical reflection outside or on the boundary of poetry / literature assumes a constant reexamination of one’s own grounds and self-criticism. True to a certain political and rhetorical tradition, such a position values its freedom from various forms of institutional coercion the most, whether administrative or epistemological.

*démarche series includes:
Alexander Skidan. Theses to the politicization of art and other texts (2014)
Alexander Smulyansky. On the concept of the act of enunciation (3rd lecture of the seminar "Lacan-educational program") (2014)

Ready for release in the series:
Yoel Regev. Coincidentology: a short treatise on the method
Alexander Montlevich. Anonymous and demonstrative. On the role of pronouns in the experience of immediate certainty

* démarche is the theoretical series, anthology "TRANSLIT"

«Генезис графического пользовательского интерфейса. К теологии кода»

«Генезис графического пользовательского интерфейса. К теологии кода»

23 декабря в галерее состоится лекция и презентация книги Михаила Куртова, вышедшей в серии *démarche «Генезис графического пользовательского интерфейса. К теологии кода» (2014).

Книга посвящена анализу эволюции абстракций в информатике — от понятий переменной и объекта до паттернов и онтологий, — совпадающей с эволюцией абстракций в философии и теологии. Графический пользовательский интерфейс, изобретенный в 1970-х гг., предстает как этап в развитии этих абстракций и, одновременно, компьютерной периферии. На основе метода культурных гомологий утверждается, что графический пользовательский интерфейс морфологически эквивалентен средневековой Церкви, а современное состояние дел в информатике подобно ситуации в поздней схоластике.

Тема лекции: "Интерфейс — это Церковь" 

Михаил Куртов, философ, исследователь медиа и метамедиа, специалист по технотеологии. Автор книг «Между скукой и грезой. Аналитика киноопыта» (2012).

Вступительное слово редактора серии Павла Арсеньева и автора предисловия Алексея Гринбаума (Париж)

Начало в 19.00
Вход свободный

Книгу Михаила Куртова и другие издания серии *démarche можно приобрести в киоске галереи.

Авторов серии объединяет не только подчеркнутый интерес к теории и к условиям интеллектуального производства в целом, но и общая направленность хода мысли, способ действия, сопряженный, как правило, с учреждающей травмой институционального раскола, смещения, демарша.

«Политика формы» в их случае — или, шире, «письмо» — определяется критическим отношением к инфраструктуре идеологических аппаратов в той же мере, в какой критическая рефлексия за пределами или на границе поэзии/ литературы предполагает постоянную перепроверку своих собственных оснований и самокритику. Верная определенной политической и риторической традиции, такая позиция больше всего дорожит своей свободой от различных форм институционального принуждения, будь то административных или эпистемологических.

В серии *démarche вышли:

Александр Скидан. Тезисы к политизации искусстви и другие тексты (2014)
Александр Смулянский. К понятию акта высказывания (3 лекции семинара «Лакан-ликбез») (2014)

Готовятся к выпуску в серии:

Йоэль Регев. Коинсидентология: краткий трактат о методе
Александр Монтлевич. Безымянный и указательный. О роли местоимений в опыте непосредственной достоверности

*démarche -Теоретическая серия, альманах «ТРАНСЛИТ»