Rostan Tavasiev at the "2000s. Collection of Ekaterina and Vladimir Semenikhin. Selected works. 2000-2005" exhibition

Rostan Tavasiev at the "2000s. Collection of Ekaterina and Vladimir Semenikhin. Selected works. 2000-2005" exhibition

An exhibition "2000s. Collection of Ekaterina and Vladimir Semenikhin. Selected works. 2000-2005" is being held at the Cultural Foundation "Ekaterina" from 29th of January to 31st of July 2016. Owners of the Fund have been collecting art since 1995, and initially the focus was on the classical Russian art of the XIX century, which was followed by a period of fascination with the Knave of Diamonds art group and, later, with the so called second avant-garde. Since the 2000s, that is, since the "golden age" of Russian contemporary art, when art collecting became fashionable and commonplace, and Russian galleries broke onto the global art scene, Ekaterina and Vladimir shifted in their tastes towards contemporary art.

Semenikhins' major collection of Russian art boasts an impressive range of works rivalling, to a certain extent, some of the museum's collections. A lot of works were to become flagships of contemporary Russian art as they were exhibited at numerous shows, including major museums, both in Russian and abroad. The first of these shows was the celebrated Russia! project held at the Guggenheim museum in 2005–2006.

The exhibition presents an artwork «Mirrors» of Anna Nova gallery artist Rostan Tavasiev. This installation, performed in 2004, depicts a friendly gaggle of white toy rabbits flitting through one mirror to another. If you believe the reflection in the mirror, this hare flock does not have an end, and will hover between the mirrors for ever.

Ростан Тавасиев на выставке «Собрание Екатерины и Владимира Семенихиных» в Фонде Культуры «Екатерина»

Ростан Тавасиев на выставке «Собрание Екатерины и Владимира Семенихиных» в Фонде Культуры «Екатерина»

С 29 января по 31 июля 2016 г. в Фонде Культуры «Екатерина» проходит выставка «Собрание Екатерины и Владимира Семенихиных». Владельцы Фонда собирают искусство с 1995 года, причем изначально акцент ставился на классическое русское искусство XIX века, после чего было увлечение «Бубновым валетом», а также «вторым авангардом». С 2000-х годов, то есть со времен «золотого века» российского современного искусства, когда коллекционирование искусства стало модным и распространенным явлением, а российские галереи вышли на мировой уровень, Екатерина и Владимир переориентировались в своих вкусах на современное искусство.

Коллекцию искусства Семенихиных можно по праву считать одной из самых репрезентативных по составу работ и, в определенной мере, не уступающей иным музейным коллекциям. Многие из приобретенных коллекционерами произведений со временем стали «лицом» русского современного искусства, были показаны на многих выставках, в том числе в крупных музеях, как в России, так и за рубежом, начиная со знаменитого выставочного проекта Музея Гуггенхайма «Россия!» (2005-2006 гг.).

На выставке представлена работа художника галереи Ростана Тавасиева «Зеркала». На выполненной в 2004 году инсталляции, Сквозь одно зеркало в другое перелетает дружная стайка белых игрушечных зайцев. Если верить отражению в зеркалах, то эта заячья стайка совершенно не имеет конца, и вечно будет кружить между зеркал.