Joint international art project by Ilya Grishaev and Maurice Bogaert at the "Pro Arte" Foundation

Joint international art project by Ilya Grishaev and Maurice Bogaert at the "Pro Arte" Foundation

A joint international exhibition of Ilya Grishaev (St. Petersburg) and Maurice Bogaert (Amsterdam) "Coexistence of man and water" is opening on August 25th, at 7 p.m., at the “Pro Arte” Foundation.

At the opening of the exhibition Dutch artist Maurice Bogaert and Russian artist Ilya Grishaev will present the results of their artistic research in the framework of the joint international artistic project "Coexistence of man and water": video, a series of drawings and sketches, found objects and short texts - stories about staying in the residence on the Kotlin island.

The century long relationship with the Netherlands and St Petersburg is based on water. Peter the Great brought Dutch knowledge of shipbuilding and canals to St. Petersburg. That turned St Petersburg from a swampy area into the much-appreciated city with urban canals and the important international harbour. More recently Dutch engineers helped to build the dam in the Neva bay to resist flood of the city. On a global scale the effects of climate change will further affect the living conditions of people and cities in low-lying areas such as St. Petersburg and the Netherlands. With the prospect of rising sea level we need to learn from the past in order to be able to develop resilient methods for the future.

The art project Coexistence of Man and Water focuses on artistic research into the effect and contributes to enhance awareness and resilience of both locals and professionals. During this bilateral exchange program Dutch artist Maurice Bogaert and Russian artist Ilya Grishaev worked at the NCCA Art Residence in Kronstadt on Kotlin Island to develop research and produce new works.

The project was initiated by the Dutch Art Foundation Satellietgroep and organized together with the NCCA, North-Western branch (St. Petersburg), supported by the Netherlands Institute in St. Petersburg (NIP) and the St. Petersburg PRO ARTE Foundation.

Venue: The St.Petersburg PRO ARTE Foundation.
Address: Nevskaya kurtina, left side, Peter and Paul Fortress, St. Petersburg (15 min walk from Gorkovskaya metro station).
Opening hours: Monday-Friday, 12.00 – 18.00
Tel.: +7 (812) 233 00 40, 233 05 53 (The St.Petersburg PRO ARTE Foundation)

Совместный международный художественный проект Ильи Гришаева и Мориса Богарта в Фонде "ПРО АРТЕ"

Совместный международный художественный проект Ильи Гришаева и Мориса Богарта в Фонде "ПРО АРТЕ"

Сегодня, 25 августа, в 17:00 в Фонде “ПРО АРТЕ” состоится открытие совместной международной выставки Ильи Гришаева (Санкт-Петербург) и Мориса Богарта (Амстердам) “Сосуществование человека и воды”.

На открытии выставки голландский художник Морис Богарт и российский художник Илья Гришаев представят результаты своих художественных исследований в рамках совместного международного художественного проекта «Сосуществование человека и воды»: видео, серию рисунков и набросков, найденные объекты и короткие тексты – рассказы о пребывании в резиденции на острове Котлин.

На протяжении веков Нидерланды и Санкт-Петербург объединяет тема воды. Петр Великий использовал знания голландских мастеров в области судостроения и перенес голландскую систему каналов в город на Неве. Из болотистой местности Санкт-Петербург превратился в величественный город с каналами и важным международным портом. Совсем недавно голландские инженеры помогали строить дамбу в Невской губе для защиты города от наводнений. В мировом масштабе последствия изменения климата будут в дальнейшем влиять на условия жизни людей и городов в низменных областях, таких как Санкт-Петербург и Нидерланды. Зная о том, что уровень моря повышается, мы должны извлечь уроки из прошлого, чтобы быть в состоянии создать устойчивые методы защиты на будущее.

Художественный проект «Сосуществование человека и воды» - это художественное исследование последствий изменения климата. Для работы над проектом приглашены голландский художник Морис Богарт и художник из Петербурга Илья Гришаев. В июле-августе 2015 художники работают в тесном сотрудничестве в Арт-резиденции Государственного центра современного искусства (ГЦСИ) в Кронштадте, на острове Котлин.

Проект инициирован Голландским фондом искусства Satellietgroep (Гаага, Нидерланды) и осуществляется в сотрудничестве с Северо-Западным филиалом Государственного центра современного искусства (Санкт-Петербург, Россия), при поддержке Голландского института в Санкт-Петербурге и Петербургского благотворительного фонда культуры и искусства «ПРО АРТЕ».

Выставка открыта в Фонде «ПРО АРТЕ» (Санкт-Петербург, Петропавловская крепость, Невская куртина, левая сторона) до 31 августа.