Living and Dead / Petr Shvetsov

Petr Shvetsov

Living and Dead

05 Oct - 03 Nov 2007


Petr Shwetsov – an artist who constantly collaborates with the gallery starting with the project ‘’The Head of the Architect’’ (2005). At the exhibition two of his latest works are represented: a fountain with a video, painting and glass-cases with living crickets. A lot of people have remembered it since the installation ‘’Living and Dead’’ constructed by the artist on the stand of the gallery at the fair ‘’Art Moscow – 2007’’. It is shown in the second hall of the gallery. In the first hall one can see a huge picture ‘’Night Watch’’, where Piotr Shwetsov combines Rembrandt with zoological museum.

"Picturesque reflection of animals, snakes and birds presented by the artist  with expression and passion surround you right at once you find yourself in the area of taxidermic surrealism. The central part of this installation is a pure white fountain, tiled, here and there ‘’encrusted’’ with paintings of black and white creatures, they seem to come from an immense natural beastiary. They are nice and look like toys. Surgical sterility of an unstained object works in contrast with painting and the rest – anyway it’s only an overture to a video line that can raise a degree of fear mixed with disgust of an extremely emotional viewer. What made the artist use this concentrated, aggressive and naturalistic influence in his works? Obviously, he wanted to breathe  a new life into art with passion and rage, that will be able to bring us round, break into a boring screen glamour and bring back strong feelings and emotional experience’’

Gleb Yershov

Petr Shwetsov is one of the most remarkable and active artists of his generation. He was born in Leningrad in 1970. He finished the Secondary art School at the Art Academy. He has become a member of the Union of Artists of Russia since 1992. He is famous as a master of lithography – his graphic series ‘’Improper Pictures’’ (since 1999), ‘’Fights without Rules’’ (2000), ‘’Abstract’’ (2001), ‘’Airplanes’’ (2002). Lately Piotr Shwetsov has worked in the genre of installation and video-art – ‘’Shadow Space’. His works were exhibited in the Youth Centre of the State Hermitage, St. Petersburg (2004); Columbarium Institute PROARTE and the museum of Geological Research named after Chernushov, St. Petersburg (2004); ‘’Tsusima’’, the State Museum of the History of the City, Peter and Paul’s Fortress, St. Petersburg (2006); ‘’The Fence’’, Anna Nova gallery, Navicula Artis, St. Petersburg (2007); ‘’My Grandma Was Right’’ a festival ‘’KIC NordArt’’, Budelsdorf, Germany (2007). Petr Shwetsov’s works can be found in the museums and private collections in Russia and abroad.

Живое и мертвое / Петр Швецов

Петр Швецов

Живое и мертвое

05 октября - 03 ноября 2007 г.


Свой третий сезон галерея Anna Nova открывает выставкой Петра Швецова, – художника, постоянно сотрудничающего с галереей, начиная с проекта “Голова архитектора” (2005). На нынешней выставке представлены две последние работы Швецова. Фонтан с видео, живопись и витрины с живыми сверчками в них, многим запомнившиеся в инсталляции “Живое и мертвое”, выстроенной художником на стенде галереи на ярмарке “Арт Москва-2007”, будут теперь показаны во втором зале галереи. В первом зале – большая картина “Ночной дозор”, в которой Петр Швецов соединяет Рембрандта с зоологическим музеем.

«Живописные изображения зверей, гадов и птиц очень экспрессивно и страстно переданные художником, обступают вас сразу же, как только вы оказались в этом пространстве таксидермического сюрреализма. Центральной частью инсталляции является чистый белый фонтанчик, выложенный кафельной плиткой, кое-где “инкрустированной” росписью: черно-белые существа из необъятного природного бестиария милы и игрушечны. Стерильность хирургически безупречного объекта работает на контрасте с густой фактурой живописи и всего остального – однако все это лишь увертюра к видеоряду, способному окончательно взогнать и без того высокий градус страха пополам с отвращением у излишне эмоционального зрителя. Что же заставило художника прибегнуть к столь массированному и агрессивно-натуралистическому воздействию своих произведений? Очевидно, желание вдохнуть в живопись, в искусство со всей страстью и яростью жизнь, способную своей живой водой вернуть нас в чувство, прорвать надоевший экранный гламур, снова вернуть искусству сильные чувства и переживания». 
 

Глеб Ершов

Петр Швецов – один из наиболее заметных и активных художников своего поколения, – родился в 1970 году в Ленинграде. Окончил Среднюю Художественную Школу при Академии Художеств, член Союза Художников России с 1992 года. Участвует в выставках с 1992 года. Получил известность как мастер литографии – графические циклы “Неприличные картинки” (с 1999), “Бои без правил” (2000), “Абстрактные” (2001), “Аэропланы” (2002). В последнее время Петр Швецов работает в актуальных художественных жанрах инсталляции, видео-арта – “Теневое пространство”, Молодежный центр Государственного Эрмитажа, Санкт-Петербург (2004); Columbarium, Институт ПРО АРТЕ и музей Геологоразведки им. Чернышева, Санкт-Петербург (2004); “Цусима”, Государственный музей истории города, потерна Петропавловской крепости, Санкт-Петербург (2006); “Забор”, галерея Anna Nova и галерея Nаvicula Artis, Санкт-Петербург (2007); "Моя бабушка была права" фестиваль "KiC NordArt", Бюдельсдорф, Германия (2007). Работы Петра Швецова находятся в музеях и частных собраниях в России и за рубежом.